Accessible Navigation. Go to: Navigation Main Content Footer

Molecular Pharmacology, Pharmacogenetics and Therapeutics

Faculty Program Interests

 

Howard Beall

Howard D. Beall

Professor

howard.beall@umontana.edu

Biomedical Sciences

Discovery of novel, targeted anticancer agents and their mechanisms of action.

 

Richard Bridges

Richard J. Bridges

Professor

richard.bridges@umontana.edu

Biomedical Sciences

Novel synthetic and natural products that act at amino acid transporters in the central nervous system.

 

Fernando Cardozo

Fernando Cardozo-Pelaez

Associate Professor

fernando.cardozo@umontana.edu

Biomedical Sciences

Effect of environmental neurotoxins on DNA damage, DNA repair capacity, and neuronal function in the CNS.

 

Douglas Coffin

J. Douglas Coffin

Professor

douglas.coffin@umontana.edu

Biomedical Sciences

Genetic basis, and function of growth factors in mammalian growth and development.

 

Darrell Jackson

Darrell A. Jackson

Associate Professor

darrell.jackson@umontana.edu

Biomedical Sciences

G-protein-coupled receptor signaling in neurological disorders including Alzheimer's disease, Parkinson's disease, and stroke.

 

Diana Lurie

Diana I. Lurie

Professor

diana.lurie@umontana.edu

Biomedical Sciences

Development and regeneration of the nervous system. The effect of toxins such as lead on CNS development and the neural and glial response to injury.

 

Curtis Noonan

Curtis Noonan

Associate Professor

curtis.noonan@umontana.edu

Biomedical Sciences

Population-based research of inhalation exposures and respiratory health.

 

Mark Pershouse

Mark A. Pershouse

Associate Professor

mark.pershouse@umontana.edu

Biomedical Sciences

Molecular genetics of human cancer; genomic expression analysis for detection of toxic injury; cancer detection and diagnosis; role of SV40 virus in cancer; bioinformatics and mechanisms of asbestos toxicity. 

 

Nigel Priestley

Nigel Priestly

Professor

nigel.priestley@umontana.edu

Chemistry

Natural product chemistry, biochemistry, and biosynthesis: how natural products are made so that the organisms that produce them can be manipulated to produce 'non-natural' natural products.

 

Elizabeth Putnam

Elizabeth A. Putnam

Associate Professor

elizabeth.putnam@umontana.edu

Biomedical Sciences

Gene-environment interactions in the development of cancer and fibrotic disease development after asbestos exposure in mouse models and humans.

 

Kevan Roberts

Kevan Roberts

Associate Professor

kevan.roberts@umontana.edu

Biomedical Sciences

Respiratory immunology, asthma, and environmental impacts that exacerbate asthma.

 

Jerry Smith

Jerry R. Smith

Associate Professor

 jerry.smith@umontana.edu

Biomedical Sciences

Cardiovascular pharmacology, drug metabolism and toxicology.

 

Andrea Stierle

Andrea Stierle

Professor

andrea.stierle@umontana.edu

Biomedical Sciences

Isolation and structural characterization of compounds with selective biological activity from microbes.

 

Donald Stierle

Donald Stierle

Professor

 donald.stierle@umontana.edu

Biomedical Sciences

Isolation and structural characterization of compounds with selective biological activity from microbes.

 

Charles Thompson

Charles M. Thompson

Professor

charles.thompson@umontana.edu

Biomedical Sciences

Medicinal and bioorganic chemistry, neurochemistry; synthesis of novel small molecule probes of protein structure and function; protein mass spectrometry and proteomics; oragnophosphorus inhibitors; pharmacophore development.

 

Erica Woodahl

Erica L. Woodahl

Associate Professor

erica.woodahl@umontana.edu

Biomedical Sciences

Pharmacogenomics of drug transporters and drug-metabolizing enzymes in drug response, toxicity and disease susceptibility.

Recent publications related to Molecular Pharmacology, Toxicology, Pharmcogenetics and Therapeutics from UM Faculty:

Pharmacogenetics in American Indian Populations: Analysis of CYP2D6, CYP3A4, CYP3A5, and CYP2C9 in the Confederated Salish and Kootenai Tribes. Fohner A, Muzquiz LI, Austin MA, Gaedigk A, Gordon A, Thornton T, Rieder MJ, Pershouse MA, Putnam EA, Howlett K, Beatty P, Thummel KE, Woodahl EL. Pharmacogenet Genomics, 23:403-414, 2013.  PMID:23778323

Early Alzheimer's and Parkinson's disease pathology in urban children: Friend versus Foe responses--it is time to face the evidence.Calderón-Garcidueñas L, Franco-Lira M, Mora-Tiscareño A, Medina-Cortina H, Torres-Jardón R, Kavanaugh M. Biomed Res Int. 2013;2013:161687. doi: 10.1155/2013/161687. Epub 2013 Feb 7. PMID:23509683

Caspase-1 and -3 inhibiting drimane sesquiterpenoids from the extremophilic fungus Penicillium solitum. Stierle D.B, Stierle A.A, Girtsman T, McIntyre K, Nichols J.  J Nat Prod. 2012, 75(2):262-6.  PMID:22276851

Asthma randomized trial of indoor wood smoke (ARTIS): rationale and methods. Noonan CW, Ward TJ. Contemp Clin Trials. 2012 Sep;33(5):1080-7. doi: 10.1016/j.cct.2012.06.006. Epub 2012 Jun 23. PMID: 22735495

Aryl hydrocarbon receptor (AhR) regulates silica-induced inflammation but not fibrosis. Beamer CA, Seaver BP, Shepherd DM. Toxicol Sci. 2012 Apr;126(2):554-68. doi: 10.1093/toxsci/kfs024. Epub 2012 Jan 23. PMID: 22273745

Three human cell types respond to multi-walled carbon nanotubes and titanium dioxide nanobelts with cell-specific transcriptomic and proteomic expression patterns. Tilton SC, Karin N, Tolic A, Xie Y, Lai X, Hamilton RF, Waters K, Holian A, Witzmann FA, Orr G. Nanotoxicology. 2013 May 9. [Epub ahead of print] PMID: 23659652

MDR1 (ABCB1) G1199A (Ser400Asn) polymorphism alters transepithelial permeability and sensitivity to anticancer agents. Woodahl EL, Crouthamel MH, Bui T, Shen DD, Ho RJ. Cancer Chemother Pharmacol. 2009 Jun;64(1):183-8. doi: 10.1007/s00280-008-0906-4. Epub 2009 Jan 4. PMID: 19123050

Graphics, Design, & Layout by Spectral Fusion Designs, 2013.