Accessible Navigation. Go to: Navigation Main Content Footer

Environmental Toxicology

Faculty Program Interests

 

Celine Beamer

Celine Beamer

Research Assistant Professor

celine.beamer@umontana.edu

Biomedical Sciences

Cellular and molecular mechanisms underlying regulation of the immune response.

 

Lilian Calderon-Garciduenas

Lilian Calderón-Garcidueñas

Associate Professor

 lilian.calderon-garciduenas@umontana.edu

Biomedical Sciences

Chronic health effects of air pollution in the respiratory, cardiovascular and central nervous systems.

 

Andrij Holian

Andrij Holian

Professor

andrij.holian@umontana.edu

Biomedical Sciences

Mechanisms of the development and exacerbation of lung inflammation leading to asthma, lung fibrosis and autoimmune diseases.

 

Chris Migliaccio

Chris Migliaccio

Research Assistant Professor

christopher.migliaccio@umontana.edu

Biomedical Sciences

Cellular and molecular mechanisms underlying regulation of the immune response.

 

Curtis Noonan

Curtis Noonan

Associate Professor

curtis.noonan@umontana.edu

Biomedical Sciences

Population-based research of inhalation exposures and respiratory health.

 

Elizabeth Putnam

Elizabeth A. Putnam

Associate Professor

elizabeth.putnam@umontana.edu

Biomedical Sciences

Gene-environment interactions in the development of cancer and fibrotic disease development after asbestos exposure in mouse models and humans.

 

Kevan Roberts

Kevan Roberts

Associate Professor

kevan.roberts@umontana.edu

Biomedical Sciences

Respiratory immunology, asthma, and environmental impacts that exacerbate asthma.

 

David Shepherd

David M. Shepherd

Associate Professor

david.shepherd@umontana.edu

Biomedical Sciences

Immunomodulation by nutraceuticals and dietary supplements with emphasis on chronic inflammatory diseases such as arthritis and asthma; mechanisms of immunotoxicity following exposure to environmental chemicals such as halogenated aromatic hydrocarbons.

 

Charles Thompson

Charles M. Thompson

Professor

charles.thompson@umontana.edu

Biomedical Sciences

Medicinal and bioorganic chemistry, neurochemistry; synthesis of novel small molecule probes of protein structure and function; protein mass spectrometry and proteomics; oragnophosphorus inhibitors; pharmacophore development.

 

Tony Ward

Tony Ward

Associate Professor

tony.ward@umontana.edu

Biomedical Sciences

Exposure assessment related to indoor and outdoor air pollution.

Recent publications related to Environmental Toxicology from UM Faculty:

Inhibition of TLR ligand- and interferon-g-induced murine microglial activation by Panax notoginseng. C.A. Beamer and D.M. Shepherd. Journal of Neuroimmune Pharmacology. 2012 Jun, 7(2):465-476 PMID: 22183805.

Innate immune processes are sufficient for driving silicosis in mice. Beamer CA, Migliaccio C, Jessop F, Trapkus M, Yuan D, Holian A.J. Leuko Biol 88(3)547-557, 2010. PMID: 20576854

Base Camp Personnel Exposure to Particulate Matter During Wildland Fire Suppression Activities. McNamara ML, Semmens EO, Gaskill S, Palmer C, Noonan CWWard T. Journal of Occupational & Environmental Hygiene 2012;9:149-56. PMID: 22364357

Ambient and personal PM2.5 exposure assessment in the Chinese Megacity of Guangzhou. Atmospheric Environment.  Jahn, H.J., Kraemer, A., Chen, X.C., Chan, C.Y., Guenter Engling, G., Ward, T.J., 2013. Ambient and personal PM2.5 exposure assessment in the Chinese Megacity of Guangzhou. In press.

Graphics, Design, & Layout by Spectral Fusion Designs, 2013.