Accessible Navigation. Go to: Navigation Main Content Footer

Bio-inspired, Natural Products and Medicinal Chemistry

Faculty Program Interests

 

Howard Beall

Howard Beall

Professor

howard.beall@umontana.edu

Biomedical Sciences

Discovery of novel, targeted anticancer agents and their mechanisms of action.

 

Orion Berryman

Orion Berryman

Assistant Professor

orion.berryman@umontana.edu

Chemistry

Organic chemistry, catalysis, molecular recognition, self-assembly, ligand development, photoisomerization.

 

Richard Bridges

Richard J. Bridges

Professor

richard.bridges@umontana.edu

Biomedical Sciences

Novel synthetic and natural products that act at amino acid transporters in the central nervous system.

 

Philippe Diaz

Associate Professor

philippe.diaz@umontana.edu

Biomedical Sciences

Design and synthesis of cannabinoid receptor and calcium channel modulators.

 

John Gerdes

John Gerdes

Professor

john.gerdes@umontana.edu

Biomedical Sciences

Synthesis, design and computational modeling of small molecule drugs.

 

Keith Parker

Keith Parker

Professor

keith.parker@umontana.edu

Biomedical Sciences

Neurochemistry and molecular neuropharmacology, particularly the development of new anti-migraine drugs and studies of serotonin receptor-G protein interactions.

 

Nigel Priestley

Nigel Priestley

Professor

nigel.priestley@umontana.edu

Chemistry

Natural product chemistry, biochemistry, and biosynthesis: how natural products are made so that the organisms that produce them can be manipulated to produce 'non-natural' natural products.

 

David Sheperd

David Shepherd

Associate Professor

david.shepherd@umontana.edu

Biomedical Sciences

Immunomodulation by nutraceuticals and dietary supplements with emphasis on chronic inflammatory diseases such as arthritis and asthma; mechanisms of immunotoxicity following exposure to environmental chemicals.

 

Jerry Smith

Jerry R. Smith

Associate Professor

jerry.smith@umontana.edu

Biomedical Sciences

Cardiovascular pharmacology, drug metabolism and toxicology.

 

Andrea Stierle

Andrea Stierle

Professor

andrea.stierle@umontana.edu

Biomedical Sciences

Isolation and structural characterization of compounds with selective biological activity from microbes.

 

Donald Stierle

Donald Stierle

Professor

donald.stierle@umontana.edu

Biomedical Sciences

Isolation and structural characterization of compounds with selective biological activity from microbes.

 

Charles Thompson

Charles Thompson

Professor

charles.thompson@umontana.edu

Biomedical Sciences

Synthesis of novel small molecule probes of protein structure and function; protein mass spectrometry and proteomics; oragnophosphorus inhibitors; pharmacophore development.

 

Erica Woodahl

Erica Woodahl

Associate Professor

erica.woodahl@umontana.edu

Biomedical Sciences

Pharmacogenomics of drug transporters and drug-metabolizing enzymes in drug response and toxicity.

Recent publications related to Bio-inspired, Natural Products and Medicinal Chemistry from UM Faculty:

Synthesis of New Quinolinequinone Derivatives and Preliminary Exploration of their Cytotoxic Properties. Keyari CM, Kearns AK, Duncan NS, Eickholt EA, Abbott G, Beall HD, Diaz P. J Med Chem. 2013 May 23;56(10):3806-19. doi: 10.1021/jm301689x. Epub 2013 May 1. PMID: 23743360

Improved synthesis of 3-aryl isoxazoles containing fused aromatic rings. Mirzaei YR, Weaver MJ, Steiger SA, Kearns AK, Gajewski MP, Rider KC, Beall HD, Natale NR. Tetrahedron. 2012 Dec 16;68(50):10360-10364. Epub 2012 Sep 25. PMID: 23526841

Synthesis and anti-acetylcholinesterase properties of novel β- and γ-substituted alkoxy organophosphonates.Kaleem Ahmed S, Belabassi Y, Sankaranarayanan L, Chao CK, Gerdes JM, Thompson CM. Bioorg Med Chem Lett. 2013 Apr 1;23(7):2048-51. doi: 10.1016/j.bmcl.2013.02.010. Epub 2013 Feb 13. PMID: 23453838

Caspase-1 inhibitors from an extremophilic fungus that target specific leukemia cell lines. Stierle AA, Stierle DB, Girtsman T. J Nat Prod. 2012 Mar 23;75(3):344-50. doi: 10.1021/np200414c. Epub 2012 Feb 1. PMID: 22295871

Toward new therapeutics for skin and soft tissue infections: propargyl-linked antifolates are potent inhibitors of MRSA and Streptococcus pyogenes. Viswanathan K, Frey KM, Scocchera EW, Martin BD, Swain Iii PW, Alverson JB, Priestley ND, Anderson AC, Wright DL. PLoS One. 2012;7(2):e29434. doi: 10.1371/journal.pone.0029434.

Graphics, Design, & Layout by Spectral Fusion Designs, 2013.